“That Guy” Part 3

The third and final installment of “That Guy,” that fantasy player we want to avoid.

The way these entries are intended to be read, are as a self reflection. Maybe show them to your friends, and make them aware of their shortfalls. We really do want you to have the best fantasy experience you possibly can. In a perfect world, everyone is engaged and checking their rosters. Plays fairly, trades fairly.

But every once in awhile, you get that guy who just won’t play by the rules. Which brings us to our final one. And this one is probably the most common:

THE SORE WINNER/LOSER

You know who you are. The one who even when you’re wrong, you have to be right. You will argue anything for the sake of arguing. Make anything difficult just for the sake of making things difficult. When you win, you gloat and act like you know everything. When you lose, the whole world knows.

Signs that you may be a sore winner or loser:

  1. You stash players on your IR who aren’t even injured. You do it, just so you can get a rise out of other players in your league. Then when the Commish confronts you, you snap and bench all of your players.
  2. When you get offered a trade, you ask for exceedingly more than any human would actually pay for that player. Your goal isn’t to make a deal, its to ram a plunger into their post-dinner area.
  3. If you get reprimanded by the Commish for breaking a fantasy rule, you block him on Facebook (I kid you not. I played with a 50 year old man in a league who did that. Its been 2 years and he still has me blocked. 50 years old.) Then he released all of his players and quit. He may have kicked some kids out of a sandbox too. #HeadDesk

I’m sure we could go on and on. But you get the point. Don’t be a Susie seat kicker or a Harvey hogger or a Tommy texter. I guess that would make you a Sammy sour patch, a Richie rollercoaster or a Sally sad face? Just play by the rules. Beat your friends fair and square.

Maybe its just me. But its far more entertaining to out-research your friends and pick up an ultimate sleeper, than to be the jerk no one likes to play against.

Hey, I’ve been that guy. And because of that, my friends love to beat me. I’m a mouth piece in my league, I’ll admit that. I’m not as bad as I used to be anymore. I was an absolute pain in the ass to play against.

But now, people love to play against me because they read my blogs, listen to my podcasts and steal my players before I can. Beat me at my own game.

So. Want to stick it to your friends? Do it with style, not like a whiny beotch.

Questions or comments? Follow me on Twitter @davedawson7 or @CFLFantasyFTB

Send me an email at Onsidepodcast@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

